Number 56 Squadron Sopwith Snipe 1/32 – Wingnut Wings – The Roaring ’20s!

Started by Paul Barber · 20 · 5 years ago
  • Profile Photo
    Paul Barber said 5 years, 8 months ago:

With limited contenders for a 1920s RAF100 build I decided a while ago to treat myself to a Wingnut Wings Kit (or two). I chose the Sopwith Snipe of No 56 Sqn, as shown on the box art, with its famous chequered markings (which appeared around the time of this aircraft in the early to mid 20's). Also pictured are the 7 sprues (I have begun dry fitting the rotary engine parts), the customary fantastic WNW booklet of instructions and info, and the impressive decal sheet.

Here is the aircraft I have chosen to build:

And some more detailed shots of sprues and individual parts:

Here are some examples of the instructions - chosen as they are the sub-assemblies I will be doing first up:

And finally some dry fitted parts of that engine:

[

I have never built a WNW kit before so my mistakes and shortcomings will be there for all to see as ever - hopefully not too many, but useful to those who also haven't built a WNW bird. Here's hoping I can generate an acceptable 1920s subject for RAF100! More on the history of the plane later!

Thanks for looking!

• Profile Photo
    John Healy said 5 years, 8 months ago:

Great choice, Paul! I almost selected that kit for the build but settled on the Victor. I’ve built two WNW kits (Pfalz D.III and Junkers J.I) and really enjoyed both. The nice thing about the Snipe is that it has simpler rigging then most British a/c of the time. I’m looking forward to seeing yours.

• Profile Photo
    Craig Abrahamson said 5 years, 8 months ago:

Although I've never done one, everything I've seen and/or heard about those WNW kits have been nothing but good (as I'm sure this one will be). Thanks for the review pics.

• Profile Photo
    Tom Cleaver said 5 years, 8 months ago: