Monogram 1/48 C-47 to DC-3 conversion

Started by Jaime Carreon · 40 · 6 years ago · C-47, Dc-3, Monogram
  • Profile Photo
    Jaime Carreon said 7 years, 9 months ago:

I've been an aircraft mechanic for nearly 40 years now, but my early career contained all the adventure moments that I'll remember for the rest of my life. That part included stints in general aviation, military contact and air cargo before I made the ultimate mistake and went to work for an airline. When I got back into plastic scale modeling a few years ago, I decided I wanted to try to build airplanes that I had worked on, and this will be the first one.

This is the 1978 boxing of the Monogram C-47, to be built as the Gooney I spent the most time with, N102BL, USAAF s/n 44-76322. She started life as a C-47 in 1944 and was sold surplus and converted to DC-3 standard in 1976. Most of the military equipment was removed, the engines derated and an FAA airworthiness certificate issued, not difficult since the airplane had started life as an airliner. I'll get into more of the story when the build is done.

The main differences will be in the cockpit area, so this is where I am starting. Since 102 had panel mounted Collins avionics, there was no need for the radio operator or navigator's positions, so they and the astrodome were removed. The bulkhead immediately behind the pilot's seats was moved aft a few feet, allowing room for a jumpseat behind the pilot's seat, right in front of the escape hatch. All the other bulkheads were removed, resulting in a slightly larger cockpit and a larger cargo area. This was not unusual - I never worked on any two DC-3's that had the same cockpit layout.