1/48 Trumpeter Vampire FB Mk 9

Started by George R Blair Jr · 14 · 3 years ago · 1/48, RAF Cranwell, Trumpeter, Vampire FB Mk 9
  • Profile Photo
    George R Blair Jr said 3 years, 5 months ago:

All of you who are building really cool Vampires have made me want to build one also. I checked out my stash and found an old 1/48 Hobbycraft Mk 1, a 1/72 Airfix TT.1, and a 1/48 Trumpeter FB Mk 9. I was really interested in building something in 1/48, so I took a vote and decided on the Trumpeter kit.

I found I also had a set of canopy masks and photoetch for the plane, as well as a set of decals. The decals are by Eurodecals, which are sold by the Fantasy Printshop. Choosing the paint scheme was relatively easy. In the 1980s, I got a call from the Air Force Personnel Center, who offered me an exchange tour as an instructor at RAF Cranwell. I was an instructor pilot in C-141s at the time, and Airlift Command refused to release me to go to this dream job. So this paint scheme reminds me of this missed opportunity. The decal sheet has the markings for a Mk 9 used at RAF Cranwell in the 1960s. Another great selling point for this paint scheme is that there is some fluorescent orange involved...Sold!

I hope to start this build soon. I am currently building a Beaufighter in the Work in Progress group, but you all have convinced me that nothing evil will happen if I work on two at once. Or like Erik (@airbum) and Spiros (@fiveten), who build 6 or 7 at once. During my dating years I never dated more than one woman at a time, because I just like to keep things simple. Modeling has always been the same, so this can be an experiment to be sure I don't go blind or something.

Cheers

• Profile Photo
    Spiros Pendedekas said 3 years, 5 months ago:

What a package George @gblair:
    A nice subject, a nice kit, a beautiful decal sheet, PE and masks...
    Simply great!

• Profile Photo
    Erik Gjørup said 3 years, 5 months ago: