I'm not a "real" modeler - It just seems like I am....

Started by Craig Abrahamson · 47 · 5 years ago
  • Profile Photo
    Craig Abrahamson said 10 years, 4 months ago:

I say this because I don't fall into the category of a 'real' modeler from what I've seen over these past few years - at least in my estimation. Why? Because I could care less if the shape of this or that isn't "quite right" or the tires have the 'wrong' tread design or some part is a centimeter or two off. I've been modeling for 50 years and none of this mattered until fairly recently. I don't know exactly WHEN it changed, but apparently I didn't change WITH it. One could spend twice as much as the kit costs simply buying all these resin "corrections" and "improvements" and photo-etched add-on's (much of which are hidden once completed). I have an air brush, but couldn't tell ya the last time I used it. I've pretty much mastered the art of the rattle can over the last 25 years and can achieve the [read: MY] desired results satisfactorily. I remember when "after-market" meant a different decal sheet. Maybe it's just my generation that has this mindset or it could be just ME - but I'm willin' to bet there are others who feel exactly this way and are still "in the closet" - lol - and speaking of the closet, that's another thing I just don't get... why on earth have kits that number in the hundreds - many even duplicates - when you know damn well they'll never all get built? Seems like money down the drain to my way of thinking. I know - some folks collect baseball cards, stamps, coins, etc - and some collect model kits I suppose. Well...that's my "editorial" for the day. I'd like to hear YOUR views - pro or con. Thanks.

• Profile Photo
    Simon Whitney said 10 years, 4 months ago:

I am with you on this one Craig.