B of F Academy 1/48th P-36/H75A

Started by AL HOFFMAN · 28 · 9 years ago · Battle of France Group Build
  • Profile Photo
    AL HOFFMAN said 9 years, 9 months ago:

This is my first build for the new Group. Hopefully there will be at least one more.

It is a P-36 in French markings making it a H75A-1 if I'm noy mistaking. Pretty basic kit. Going to try to do it OOB as much as possible. Going to need to do something about the wheelwells. There is nothing except holes for the gauges. Also not too proud of the engine but at least there are two banks & a little cooling fin detail. Could probably use P-40 detail kits but I'm going to scratch as much as possible. Probably A/M belts and gauge decals. Here's hoping the kit decals are useable

6 attached images. Click to enlarge.

• Profile Photo
    Gregor d said 9 years, 9 months ago:

Nice choice Al. I've got one of these somewhere!

• Profile Photo
    Seamus Boughe said 9 years, 9 months ago:

Excellent choice Al. This particular kit has been re-boxed many times. I have seen quite a few built up and they always look nice. I would not worry about the wheel wells too much except for making the round portion a bit deeper. As far as the engine is concerned, maybe a bit of wiring and a good paint/wash job. I doubt you will see much of it once it is enclosed within the cowling.

• Profile Photo
    Rick Wilkes said 9 years, 9 months ago:

Al, one thing I remember (or think I remember), is that you have to capture the engine inside the cowling, because it won't fit through from the back due to the shape, kind off an oval I think. I can't check because it got launched across the basement when the decals failed to cooperate.

• Profile Photo
    AL HOFFMAN said 9 years, 9 months ago:

Nice to know about the cowling. Thanks for the tip.

• Profile Photo
    AL HOFFMAN said 9 years, 8 months ago: