The Spirit of St. Louis…

Started by gary sausmikat · 26 · 5 years ago
  • Profile Photo
    gary sausmikat said 5 years, 7 months ago:

Hey All,

Coming off the heals of my first topic, Thirty Seconds Over Tokyo, I'm off to my next matinee.
    I am planning two builds based on another book, turned movie, The Spirit of St. Louis, staring my all time favorite actor, fellow Pennsylvanian, Mr. James Stewart.

Though I am an ardent military aircraft modeler, the Ryan, N-X-211 is my favorite aircraft of all time.
    When I first read the book, the picture inside the cover, of Luck Lindy, a small dot over the Atlantic ocean, put it all in perspective for me...Wow, what an accomplishment! This is when the Spirit became my favorite airplane. I've visited this aircraft many times at the Smithsonian but never tire of seeing it.
    I record and watch the movie every time it's on. Hmmm, you'd think by now I'd own the dvd.

Davids' movie group has inspired me to finally model this aircraft and accomplishment. I am planning one scene be based on the book's picture mentioned above and the other will be from the movie, when Lindbergh is taking off from Long Island and has to get over the trees and power lines.

These two builds will also give me the opportunity to model with card stock models...a first for me and something I've been wanting to try.

Lets' just hope I can, in my own words, KEEP IT FUN!

4 attached images. Click to enlarge.

• Profile Photo

Just ordered the dvd via Amazon. Of course using the iModeler Amazon link to help the cause.

• Profile Photo
    david leigh-smith said 5 years, 7 months ago:

I’m so happy that this group has been the catalyst for you to finally model this iconic and hugely important aircraft. I can sense how much it means to you and the influence Lindbergh’s adventure has held in your imagination. The fact you are now embarking on your own adventure with this project and experimenting with new techniques is testament to your own ‘spirit’.