1/48 Brewster SBA Scratch Build

Started by Robert Knaack · 43 · 9 months ago · 1/48, Brewster, dive bomber, SBA, vacu-form
  • Profile Photo
    Robert Knaack said 10 months, 3 weeks ago:

I've really, really wanted to add a Brewster SBA/Naval Aircraft Factory SBN to my dive bomber collection, but it seems no one has put out a kit of this little-known aircraft. So a while back I got the idea of making my own vacu-form kit, and started doing some internet research. Jim Sullivan and I had communicated a few times over the past year, and I learned from him that he had authored some of the Squadron/Signal books, so I was just about to write to him for advise on sources for the SBA when I heard of his passing. As it turns out, I first discovered the Brewster SBA from reading his co-authored book, "Golden Wings 1941-1945", so in a way, he was the inspiration for my interest in building this aircraft.

Now, this is my first attempt at building a model completely from scratch - meaning I have to build the molds for the vacu-form process, then figure out how to actually DO vacu-forming, then try to scratch build all the other elements of the aircraft. It's going to be a challenge, but if successful, I'll have a memorable addition to my dive-bomber collection, and a way to honor Jim at the same time. Wish me luck!

2 attached images. Click to enlarge.

• Profile Photo
    Spiros Pendedekas said 10 months, 3 weeks ago:

This is really a fantastic entry, my friend @robgenev665! What an amazing subject! Looking forward to it!

• Profile Photo

@fiveten Thanks, Spiros, it's going to be a challenge, for sure!

• Profile Photo
    gary sausmikat said 10 months, 3 weeks ago:

Stepping out into the unknow. I like it! Good luck, Robert. I am looking forward to watching this one.

• Profile Photo
    John vd Biggelaar said 10 months, 3 weeks ago:

This is definitely going to be an interesting build, Robert @robgenev665
    Looking forward to see it progressing

• Profile Photo