Mitsubishi A5M4, Type 96, IJN Shoho, Coral Sea, 7 May. 1942.

Started by Frederick J Seitz III · 7 · 2 years ago
  • Profile Photo
    Frederick J Seitz III said 2 years, 2 months ago:

Hey Guys!

Posting again for the first time in a long while. This is the Finemolds kit in 1:48 scale. It is a REALLY nice kit, and in my opinion better than the Wingsy offering of the same aircraft. However, that's not why I am submitting this. In keeping with the theme laid down by Tom, I am hopeful that whatever discussion is opened on account of this post, that it may really help to better get a more complete understanding of the markings and schemes used on Japanese Navy aircraft in that time period.

First off, yes...the model looks more brown that it actually is. That is due in no small part to lighting issues, and the glaring fact, that I am a terrible photographer. That being said, there are very definite reasons as to why I chose this scheme.

I found online, a color profile of an A5M assigned to Shoho. It sported an overall silver aircraft with a blazing red tail. The time frame was posted as being in 1940, before hostilities opened between Japan and the US. Once the war heated up, I thought that, not unlike the US Navy, the Japanese would begin to camouflage their aircraft as well. Silver aircraft with red tails do not quite meet that requirement. Since the A5M was built by Mitsubishi, and they were also producing the A5M's successor, the A6M, I imagined that they would be pretty much in a similar scheme,: black cowl with a greenish-brown fuselage.

As further evidence of this, I have the ACA report filed by LtCdr James Flatley, in which he described enemy VF as being "Desert Tan with red discs on the wings..."