1/32 Revell MiG-21

Started by George Johnson · 5 · 5 years ago · 1/32, MiG-21, Revell
  • Profile Photo
    George Johnson said 5 years, 10 months ago:

I don’t normally stop working on one model to start another, but I need to get a natural metal finish aircraft done for a contest here in Oregon in September. I’m a slow builder so I thought I’d start now.

I bought this 1/32 Revell MiG-21 thinking that it was 1/48. That’s not so bad, but I have very little room left to display it. Anyway, this is going to become an abandoned Soviet AF version in a NMF. I don’t know when this thing was first issued, but I can tell you it’s a piece of c**p. That’s okay, too. It has all kinds of raised panel lines, sink marks, mold lines, flash, etc, etc. The cokcpit (as you can see) is horrible. But, none of that matters because it’s going to look pretty trashed by the time I finish it. The canopy will be hazed over and discolored so I’m not too worried about the detail under it. You’ll only see a hint of detail.

I’m starting to use Mission Models paints on this bad boy. So far, I used Tire Black on the ejection seat and a US army green on the seat cushion. I had a bit of an issue with it at first due to the fact that it’s not your run-of-the-mill acrylic paint and operator error, but once I figured out what I had done, and after speaking to Jon at Mission Models, things worked out perfectly. The paint appears too thich to run through the airbrush, even when using the highly recommended dilution amounts (you pretty much have to follow the instructions on their website), but it works well. I found I had to increase my pressure a wee bit. More on Mission Models Paints later.

5 attached images. Click to enlarge.

• Profile Photo
    Louis Gardner said 5 years, 9 months ago: