1:48 Scale Trumpeter, Vickers Wellington Mk.I

Started by Frederick J Seitz III · 1 · 5 years ago
  • Profile Photo
    Frederick J Seitz III said 5 years, 4 months ago:

I picked up this kit, at a show in Poughkeepsie, New York, off the club's sale table. The guy who put it up for "adoption", tasked me with building her, saying, "You're gonna build that kit, right? I mean, you're not just gonna turn around and sell her right?" So I said in reply, "I don't buy kits to resell them, I'm a builder...". He smiled, shook my hand and said, "Right answer! I hope to see it on the table next year!"

Well, that was three years ago, so 'next year' didn't happen, but I kept the kit down from the attic, and really did plan on building her. Next year, she will be on that table in Poughkeepsie, but not for sale. She'll be competing in the 1:48 scale, multi engine category.

I found the kit to be one of Trumpeter's better releases. Trumpy can be hit or miss, (And I use the Savoia Marchetti SM-79 as an example...UGH!). Fit and alignment of all the major parts like the wings and tail planes went smoothly and without a hitch. There is plenty of detail inside the fuselage, with a nicely detailed cockpit. Joining the fuselage proved to be tricky, as there are a lot of parts that need to be lined up. That left a decent seam to address, but not one that was insurmountable.

The front and rear turrets a extremly well detailed, but caution is needed, because they MUST be installed BEFORE the fuselage is joined. You can't put them in afterwards. I used the Eduard mask set, which I felt was a must with all the clear parts. I masked the turrets and painted them before they were added.