Boeing C-17 Globemaster III - 1/72nd scale Combat Models Vacform

Started by Thomas Probert · 29 · 8 years ago · Combat Models Vacform
  • Profile Photo
    Thomas Probert said 9 years ago:

As some of you who have seen my previous models displayed on this site will know, I'm a very keen builder of vacform models and don't shy away from a modelling challenge!

I've always liked the look of the C-17 and wanted to add a 1/72nd scale version to my collection. I don't like working with resin so for me the Anigrand kit was out, so I decided to go down a route I'm familiar with and tackled the Combat Models vacform head on.

This is an update on my efforts so far, which began in November of 2014.

The kit does have it's issues - the plastic is very thin for starters and there are shape issues to deal with around the cockpit, but nothing that a little imagination and a hack-saw can't overcome. The first problem is quite a major one though - the wing is moulded 6 scale feet too far forward, so this had to be moved back 1". This necessitated the removal of the wing root section, cutting an inch off the rear portion, reattaching it to the fuselage and then adding the off cut to plug the gap.

Next was the making of numerous internal bulkheads to keep everything rigid and support the wings - this was time consuming but necessary if I didn't want the model to collapse in on itself. Spars were added to the fuselage at this point to make attaching the wings at a later date easier.

The whole fuselage was filled and sanded numerous times to get it blemish free, and then I started work on the undercarriage sponsons. These were basic in nature, but once the gear bays had been scratch-built there were no problems in fitting them to the fuselage.