Northrop BT-1 Dive Bomber 1/48 Wings48 Vacuform

Started by Rick Wilkes · 13 · 10 years ago · aircraft, golden age U.S. Navy
  • Profile Photo
    Rick Wilkes said 10 years, 1 month ago:

This is my first attempt at building a full vacuform kit. I've built full resin kits before and used & made vacuformed canopies so follow along to see how I get from this,

to this,

• Profile Photo

This turned into a big update, i promise the rest will be shorter
    Okay, I guess I should fess up right away and admit I started on this so long ago I can't remember. For those of you not familiar with Wings48 Vac kits, while not for the total novice, they certainly aren't airplane shaped blobs. I don't have any pictures of the BT-1 kit prior to working on it, so here's a picture of the Wing48 SOC Seagull kit.

The BT-1 is comparable, vac airframe, white metal parts, vac clear parts & decals.

So loaded up with ambition and encouraged by my good friends Al Hoffman & Vic Russell,

i gathered my references and I started cutting out parts. The fuselage halves were a snap and with almost no effort at all went together like an injected kit. Feeling confident after my easy success with the fuselage, I moved on to the stabilizers and ruined them beyond salvage on the first pass.
    After a couple of failed tries at scratch-building and/or modifying some SBD parts, i gave up, tossed everything up on the "Shelf of Doom" and moved on to greener pastures

Now we fast forward to last November, when I got an Aeroclub Venom FB1. It's such a beautiful kit I decided that before I laid my big mits on it I was going to practice till I had a reasonable hope of not trashing it.

Which brings us back around to the BT-1. In the meantime I had picked up another BT-1