Issues with Eduard canopy masks

Started by Felix · 15 · 1 year ago
  • Profile Photo
    Felix said 1 year, 5 months ago:

Hi everyone

I am a very slow builder and peeling off canopy masks is usually one of the last steps for me and thus definitely a highlight. However, i have had two kits in 72nd scale - the Airfix Zero and Warhawk- with both rather delicate canopies.
    Therefore i used eduard canopy masks which went on fine. I then primed with AK Primer and after airbrushing added a matte varnish.
    Unfortunately, when peeling the masks off, parts of the color came off too. Needless to say, i don't really know how to fix the canopies now.
    Also, in order to prevent this from happening again: Do you use a sharp blade perhaps to cut in between before peeling off the masks? I read some advice about using future, we don't have that in good ol' Europe. Also, i usually do not wash the clear parts in soapy water - should i do that too, perhaps? Many thanks in advance for everyone helping me out here.

3 attached images. Click to enlarge.

• Profile Photo
    George R Blair Jr said 1 year, 5 months ago:

Hi Felix (@fxrob). I have had similar problems at times, sometimes with Eduard masks, sometimes with others, and sometimes with masking tape that I cut. I think if you leave it on for too long, the paint fully cures and loses its elasticity that it has when it is still curing. The other issue is how much paint and other layers you have sprayed over the masks. The more paint you spray, the harder it is to get a clean separation. For me, there is usually a color layer, then a gloss layer for decals, then a flat layer, then some weathering, and then probably another flat layer. I guess it also depends on whether you are spraying acrylic, lacquers, or enamels. In any case, the only way I know to be sure you will get a clean separation is to lightly score the edge of the mask with an Exacto, then carefully pull the mask off. Good luck.

• Profile Photo