Oh no, my first WWI model

Started by Wes Pennest · 5 · 2 years ago
  • Profile Photo
    Wes Pennest said 2 years, 4 months ago:

So for xmas I got the William Barker WNW Snipe kit. I have never done a WWI model before. I've only done one biplane before (An-2) and I have never dealt with turnbuckles or any complex rigging. What should I read and/or watch to learn what I need to learn so I don't screw this up?

• Profile Photo
    Tom Cleaver said 2 years, 4 months ago:

You don't need to go "whole hog" on the model since it's your first.

This particular kit is very "assembly friendly." Paint as much of the detail as possible while the parts are still on the sprues. Do not get paint on surfaces that will be glued, because the tolerances the kit was designed to won't tolerate that much change in dimensions.

You don't need to do your first rigging with turnbuckles and thread - that's complicated even for experienced WW1 modelers. You can instead get some stainless steel wire and rig with that (get around .003 diameter). Fortunately the Snipe doesn't have the doubled flying wires of most RAF fighters then.

Go to places like Modeling Madness and look up (click "site map" to get to the reviews annex) reviews of building the model. Look here for reviews. wwimodels.org is also highly useful.

• Profile Photo
    John vd Biggelaar said 2 years, 4 months ago:

That will be a great challenge for 2022, Wes @avispa93

Thinking out of the box might even reveal that you are great modeller on WWI planes as well.

Unfortunately I cannot give you any advice since I still need to start my first WWI also.

The advices from Tom, @tcinla, seem very valuable. I will definitely go and read those myself to be prepared.

Looking forward to your build.

Happy New Year.

• Profile Photo
    Wes Pennest said 2 years, 4 months ago:

Thanks, Tom. I'll take a gander at all of that. While I have your attention, did the Snipe use that flattened "Raf Wire" I've heard of?

• Profile Photo