Paint Fail - Thrice!

Started by Tim New · 16 · 2 years ago
  • Profile Photo
    Tim New said 2 years ago:

Third time unlucky ...
    This time, Halfords grey matt primer (spray can) and then Revell acrylic silver (airbrush 50/50 mix).
    Why (oh why!) will the silver paint spray on nicely in some areas and not in others - espcially trailing edges?
    Thanks again - I'm starting to look at a space on the shelf of doom.
    ... and getting a nice big submarine model - they look easy (!).

3 attached images. Click to enlarge.

• Profile Photo
    John vd Biggelaar said 2 years ago:

Good day, Tim @tdmnew
    Although I can imagine that your day doesn't feel that great because of this paint result.
    Unfortunately I'm not a paint expert, but could it be that maybe your paint is still on the thick side when you apply it.
    Have you tried to spray it on using extreme thin layers, let it dry and so on.
    I assume that the primer did look correct all over the wing.

• Profile Photo
    Spiros Pendedekas said 2 years ago:

Hi Tim @tdmnew!
    The primer does not seem to be the issue.
    I agree with @johnb : looks like you tried to apply too much paint at once?
    Also, you might find other paint brands suiting your style better. I am not into acrylics, but many Great Guys here might provide you useful advice.

• Profile Photo
    Christopher C Tew said 2 years ago:

Tim, I agree that your paint looks too thick, but acrylic usually splatters when too thick if it sprays at all. How thoroughly did you mix the paint (or mix paint and thinner/water) before trying to spray? It looks like you're getting some separation from not mixing enough.

I'd thin more to a milk-like consistency, remix being sure all elements are thoroughly incorporated, and check by spraying on a piece of scrap plastic or a piece of plain white plastic sheet.

I doubt there's any of us who haven't had a day when the paint just won't behave like it did the day before!

• Profile Photo