Peddinghaus decals with missing color information

Started by Felix · 24 · 1 year ago
  • Profile Photo
    Felix said 2 years ago:

I recently bought this nice set of decals for the Airfix Zero in 72nd scale. Unfortunately, there are no color charts. Being a newbie i have looked at all the very interesting threads regarding colors of the japanese planes of WWII in this forum but now i am a bit overwhelmed. If i read and understood correctly, no Zero was painted in such a glossy white.

I have J3 Hai-Iro Grey and J3 Amber Grey, both from AK colours. I also have IJN Ash Grey from Ammo Mig. Could one of them work? I also have this other nice set of decals from Techmod, as seen in image 2: There, the underside is just called IJN Grey...any guess to what would be most appropriate?
    Thanks a lot in advance to anyone who could fill me in!

2 attached images. Click to enlarge.

• Profile Photo
    John vd Biggelaar said 2 years ago:

Always good to see another Zero, Felix @fxrob
    There is indeed a lot of intormation about the camo color of a Zero.
    What I used recently on mine is IJA Light Gray Green from Vallejo 71.321.
    It looks very close to rhe ones you show on the second picture.

• Profile Photo
    capt. R said 2 years ago:

Very good is mixture of C336 and C60 from Mr color.

• Profile Photo
    Pedro L. Rocha said 2 years ago:

I used Real Colours J3 amber grey 50% + RC white 40% + 10% radome tan on mine.
    AK J3 is too greenish as it comes

• Profile Photo
    Felix said 2 years ago:

Dear John @johnb, thank you very much for your quick answer and extensive help. So you agree that it is too white?

• Profile Photo
    Felix said 2 years ago:

@Lis thank you! I saw your Eduard Zero, a beautiful build!

• Profile Photo
    Felix said 2 years ago:

Dear Pedro L. Rocha @holzhamer , thanks a lot for the helpful insight!

• Profile Photo
    Spiros Pendedekas said 2 years ago:

Hi my friend @fxrob!

Here are the Hasegawa instructions on the Q-122...