M777 Howitzer in 1:35 (Vargas Models 3D printed kit)

Started by Michel Verschuere · 2 · 1 year ago
  • Profile Photo
    Michel Verschuere said 1 year ago:

Hi everyone!

For those who regularly follow my builds: I am an armor guy with a love for artillery. I don't know why but artillery always fascinated me. The "God of War" has driven innovation in science and technology since ages. Over the years, I read several books on ballistics, including ones dating back to Napoleontic times. As a physicist, I was always fascinated by classical mechanics that actually govern the problem. When an unpropelled projectile leaves the barrel, only physics (or trial and error) tells you where it might land.

Cannons are understood as artillery pieces with flat trajectory that basically fire in a Line-Of-Sight (LOS) mode. Howitzers however allow for higher elevation and hence do not have LOS generally (when used as a cannon, one depicts the process as open sight firing). The problem of fire control of a Howitzer is much more demanding that that for a cannon and the emphasis on physics the more important.

In Vietnam, the main piece of artillery was the M102 howitzer at 105mm. The gun dated back from both world wars but directing it in Howitzer mode evolved over time. Section chiefs used to have a "booklet" with a lot of tables called firing tables. On a map, fire missions were designed by ruler and pencil and the firing table specified what elevation (angle to the horizontal) had to be used to reach a predetermined range and elevation. The fire control problem depends on a lot more factors however such as ambient temperature, moisture, wind speed and direction, type of projectile and number of propellant bags, earth rotation, etc.