1/48 Tamiya F-51 Mustang

Started by Louis Gardner · 9 · 9 months ago
  • Profile Photo
    Louis Gardner said 9 months ago:

This is another build I wanted to do as part of the KW group. Now here we are, the group is ending tomorrow, and I'm running out of time. This KW Mustang is a build that I have always wanted to do.

Believe it or not, I have never built a Tamiya Mustang before either.

I will be getting busy with this one as time permits. This is a kit I picked up from our what was then a local Hobbytown quite some time ago. It's still shrink wrapped, waiting for me as it has for many years. Hopefully the wait will soon be over.

I'm starting this build journal now, so I can make the cutoff deadline for new entries in the group.

Please stop by when you can to see what is happening with this one. I'll be posting updates as they happen.

Thank you in advance, and as always, comments are encouraged.

• Profile Photo
    Spiros Pendedekas said 9 months ago:

A superb entry, my friend @lgardner! Looking forward to it!

• Profile Photo

Thank you Spiros. Spiros Pendedekas (@fiveten)

Have you ever built a Tamiya Mustang in 1/48 ? This will be my very first one. I have built several Accurate Miniatures Mustangs and some Monogram ones, but never a Tamiya.

Maybe I can sweet talk our mutual friend Pedro Rocha to join in on the fun since we have been talking about doing a set of mutual P-51 Mustang builds for several years now. He sent me some decals for two very cool looking birds.

If you have one you would like to build, or if you have some input about building a Tamiya Mustang, please feel free to join in with me. You are always welcome my friend.

• Profile Photo

Interestingly, I have never built one, my friend @lgardner, neither have one in my stash. It is said to be a nice, straightforward build.

• Profile Photo

Spiros Pendedekas (@fiveten)