Montesa Cota 247, 1/9

Started by Adolfo Coelho · 10 · 5 years ago
  • Profile Photo
    Adolfo Coelho said 5 years, 7 months ago:

I'm starting this cross byke, made by Protar, one of those models I've had in my large cardbox for decades. I think Protar doesn't exist anymore.

The byke I'm starting is a Montesa Cota 247 (I'm no expert on this, so transcribing what I read on the box) . After a bit of research I assume it's a motorbike from the early 70's.

Anyway, so far it's a easy and cool model to assemble, no major issues so far.

I think I won't be painting the chrome parts, as the chrome of origin is probably nicer and better than anything I could come up with.

Here are some pics of this WIP:

Will be updating the thread as I proceed with this building.

Cheers!

Dolf

• Profile Photo
    neil foster said 5 years, 7 months ago:

When I was a kid my best mates older brother had one of these ,it was the coolest "crosser"I'd ever seen.
    Can't wait to see it finished.

• Profile Photo
    Craig Abrahamson said 5 years, 7 months ago:

Gonna be watchin' this one...looks like a nice kit.

• Profile Photo
    david leigh-smith said 5 years, 7 months ago:

Surprising - and excellent - to see you working on a bike, Dolf. I’ll be watching with Craig...

• Profile Photo

Neil (@neil-foster)

Thanks for the support 🙂

It looks cool indeed, and then it's mainly red (my favorite color 😉 ).

Cheers!

Dolf

• Profile Photo

Craig (@craigindaytona)

Thanks. Yes, it looks like a nice bike (at least on the cover of the box 🙂 ). Will se how it looks when finished.

Cheers!

Dolf

• Profile Photo

David (@dirtylittlefokker)

Thanks.

Have done another bike, many years asgo, but with all the house moves... it's "dead", still have a few remaining pieces but it's irrecoverable now 🙁

Will have to buy one of those display cases made with transparent acrylic for this one (and for my recently finished R-R as well) .