Well kind of model related, but not

Started by Rob Anderson · 21 · 9 years ago
  • Profile Photo
    Rob Anderson said 9 years, 11 months ago:

Just a note about how nice this forum is. Just got insulted one last time over on Hyperscale, tried to ask why people were getting so petty over there and had my post removed. I understand the removal part, and damn it I spent 26 years in the Navy I have pretty thick skin. I just don't get the tone over freakin' model airplanes! This is fun, right? We can like or not like things. Anyway I think I have posted my last post over on HS, too much to wade through. Ok ranting done!

• Profile Photo
    Frank Cronin said 9 years, 11 months ago:

Rob,
    I can not agree with you more. I have been doing this for over 60 years and I do it because I like it and I like to have fun with it. I try to be as correct as I can but silly millimeters here and there don't bother me in the least. I gave up entering contests because I just wanted to have fun doing this. If it looks like a duck, quacks like a duck, and swims like a duck, then I can handle that and will assume it is a duck. What I do and I would hope all others do is try to create an illusion. Nothing we do in modeling will ever be exactly like the real think.In fact a model is not supposed to be like the real thing. It can only represent the real thing. So what we do in essence is create illusions, not life.

I agree with you that this site is the best. I feel I have found friends all over the world whom I will probably never meet that share the same love of modeling as I do. Granted some are way above my skill level but just to see their work and share this site with them is indeed my privilege.

• Profile Photo
    Rick Wilkes said 9 years, 11 months ago:

Apparently the kerfuffle over the Eduard 109G-6 has brought the good old days of the "Jackals" on Rec.Models.Scale. to "Plane Talking"

• Profile Photo
    neil foster said 9 years, 11 months ago: