Ford GT40 - 1968 Le Mans Winner

Started by Brian Mennenoh · 129 · 6 months ago · custom, Ford, Fujimi, LEDs, Photo Etch, sports car
  • Profile Photo
    Brian Mennenoh said 6 months, 3 weeks ago:

This seems to be a very nice kit from Fujimi. I've never built a Fujimi kit before, so hopefully, the fit is as good as Tamiya and Bandai.
    The photoetch is from SpotModel.com and the LEDs, as always, are from Evan Designs.

5 attached images. Click to enlarge.

• Profile Photo
    Gary Brantley said 6 months, 3 weeks ago:

Brian, this is going to be very interesting for me. I'm really looking forward to seeing this built! Back in 1966-'67, I had three different Ford GT kits. I bought them all while living in Geelong, Victoria, Australia as a 13–14-year-old. The original GT and the MKII models were finished, while the clear body J Car was never done. Recently, I uncovered various parts of all three kits during a scale model archaeological dig at our house. 😄 One entire model might be possible with all the sundry pieces left, but that would require the patience of Job, at least. 😁

The Ford GT is one of all-time favorites among racing automobiles and it would be one of my very first post-lottery win buys! 😉 😊

Original Ford GT by IMC

Ford GT Mk II by IMC

Ford GT J-Car by MPC

• Profile Photo

@garybrantley - Very cool Gary. I think you have to attempt to piece together a kit from all of your parts. That would be very cool if it actually all worked out.

The side engine air intakes are different on the Le Mans edition GT 40 Mark II from Fujimi and the Mark II from your pic. Too many variations...

The current GT is my personal dream car. I've always been a Ford guy I guess. The current Corvette super car is quite beautiful though.

Eventually I think I'll need the GT4 model sitting between the GT and the GT40... just seems right.

• Profile Photo
    George Williams said 6 months, 3 weeks ago: