M1A2 Abrams, Tamiya 1/48

Started by Josh Patterson · 8 · 2 years ago
  • Profile Photo
    Josh Patterson said 3 years, 5 months ago:

While cruising through HobbyTown the other day I found some 1/48 armor and vehicles. Figuring they would look nice parked with my aircraft i picked up an M1 Abrams. (Just something about the way an Abrams looks draws my eye.) I also picked up a Sherman for my GF's son to build with me. (We'll probably make an entry in the new Parent Child build group when done.)

I've never built armor before so it's a new experience. It was very kind of Tamiya to include the gigantic weight to keep my Abrams from tail sitting. If I do decide to build a 1/35 scale tank will it also come with a giant hunk of metal too?

The kit itself is quite nice. The main body has sections of anti-skid molded into it. Most detail is molded separate so even in this smaller scale (for armor) there is no skimping on detail. Even the rack around the back of the turret is in eight separate pieces and looks great when assembled. I have most assembly done to the point where I can start laying paint down. As far as paint goes I've been talking to and getting to know Jeff Bailey over the phone for a couple of years now and I've decided to have this Abrams in the markings of one of his mounts in Desert Storm. Unfortunately he doesn't have photos but he has described the markings and said there isn't much to them.

8 attached images. Click to enlarge.

• Profile Photo
    Spiros Pendedekas said 3 years, 5 months ago:

Hi Josh @jpatt1000!
    What a great choice for your first armour!
    It's a Tamiya, so may I assume it will not give you many challenges as your first armour?
    Looking forward to your progress!

• Profile Photo
    Chuck A. Villanueva said 3 years, 5 months ago: