633 Squadron

Started by Tom Bebout · 14 · 5 years ago
  • Profile Photo
    Tom Bebout said 5 years, 7 months ago:

We discussed this idea earlier in the year and boy am I on board. I worked as a motion picture projectionist while in High School as well as in College. Back then you ran 6 to 8 reels of 35MM film thru a Simplex carbon arc projector and watched for those cue marks every 20 minutes or so to make a seamless switch from one projector to another. I love good movies and the subjects are endless. Just think back to those films that either told a good story, retold historical events, had larger than life characters, scared the hell out of you, had a surprise ending, or made you cry. Planes, trains, automobiles, ships, monsters, space ships, or memorial characters the list is endless. Have to give some thought to my builds but I'm in.

Enough thinking, this 1964 film was one of the first movies featuring aircraft that was shot in color and Panavision. They actually came up with 10 Misquotes for the movie and had 5 that flew. Not a real RAF Squadron but this fictional story has some scenes based on actual missions flown by Mosquito Squadrons. Cliff Robinson owned and flew a Spitfire at the time they made this movie and wanted to fly one of the Misquito's. However, for insurance reasons he wasn't allowed.

• Profile Photo
    Jeff Bailey said 5 years, 7 months ago:

I'm with you, Tom. I, too was a projectionist for my "job" while I was in college. I didn't remember the specific machine, but I sure remember those carbon rods making that light upon touching.

Great memories.

• Profile Photo
    david leigh-smith said 5 years, 7 months ago: