1/48 Revell PV-1 Ventura Tribute Build, NAS Deland, VPB-145, July 29th, 1943 *** FINISHED ***

Started by Louis Gardner · 43 · 9 months ago
  • Profile Photo
    Louis Gardner said 9 months, 2 weeks ago:

This is a build I have been working on for a few years now. I would work a little on it, then box it back up.

Ironically it is also the last thing I was talking about with Jim Sullivan. He asked me what I was working on, and I told him about this model, sending him some pictures of it.

This Ventura was originally going to be a tribute to one of the many PV-1 crews that were killed while training here at NAS Deland during World War 2. I have plans to eventually build up another one, and possibly make it as a plane from NAS Sanford, or possibly another one from Deland, but painted in a different paint scheme.

Our local airport was a very active training base for the US Navy during the War. They trained most of the Navy and Marine Corps pilots in their final advanced stages of flight training, just before they were shipped out overseas. They trained SBD Dauntless, PV-1 Ventura, SB2C Helldiver, and PB4Y Liberator crews here in Deland.

In the early part of the War, shortly after the base opened up to the Navy in 1942, they were also training F4F Wildcat pilots in the advanced phases of aerial combat.

Curtis SNC-1 Falcons, and SNJ trainers were also flying out of Deland on a regular basis too.

F4F Wildcat pilots were also trained here. However they were soon moved nearby to NAS Daytona Beach, and NAS Sanford where "advanced" fighter tactics and training was done. Our local airport was just too busy to accommodate everything going on here at the time.

There was also a lot of training done at NAS Jacksonville, and it's surrounding outlying fields.

This will be covered in the main article that I have planned for the headline section on July 29th, which is the 80th anniversary of this tragic but all too common event that happened right here at our airport.