1/350 Japanese destroyer Akizuki

Started by Jay Mitchell · 92 · 2 years ago · 1/350, Akizuki, Destroyer, Japanese navy
  • Profile Photo
    Jay Mitchell said 2 years, 5 months ago:

About 2 years ago I built Tamiya’s 1/350 scale Destroyer Yukikaze, and really enjoyed it, it’s such a nice kit. I recently acquired two more Japanese tin cans in the same scale. A Hasegawa Shimakaze and a Wave Akizuki.

I thought this might fit in with this group build.

I chose the Akizuki to build first . It’s a beautiful ship , designed to provide anti-aircraft protection for larger ships such as aircraft carriers and merchant ships.

I think there was about 12 built in it’s class , although many more had been planned. The deteriorating war situation caused the building of the planned ships to be cancelled. This ship was completed in June 1942 and , like many other Japanese ships, was destroyed by US Navy carrier aircraft in October 1944.

I’ve never built a model by Wave before. It seems like a pretty detailed kit.

I started out last night by putting together the gun turrets and torpedo tubes, and using some liquid masking fluid to mask certain areas in preparation for painting.

I invested in some Tamiya spray paint that was especially formulated for Japanese warships. I’ve always considered Tamiya spray paints to be the “ Champaign of paints”. It’s certainly priced like Champaign .

Generally I’m a OOB builder and don’t buy aftermarket detail sets and try to stay away from PE as much as possible . This kit has a fair amount of PE. I chose to make the 1942 version of this ship rather then the 1944 version partly because it has less PE required. My vision and clumsy fingers do better if I keep things as simple as possible . However, I may try adding some rigging to this one.

• Profile Photo
    Spiros Pendedekas said 2 years, 5 months ago:

This is a wonderful entry, my friend @ssgt!
    Looking forward to your progress!

• Profile Photo