GWH 1/48 TBD-1 Devastator

Started by David Odenwald · 92 · 5 months ago
  • Profile Photo
    David Odenwald said 10 months ago:

Well here goes, first real post since I just joined but have been reading for awhile.

My plan is to build T-4 off USS Lexington as the plane has a credited torpedo hit on the light carrier Shoho. But a bedeviling question needs answering from the photos taken by Paul Allen's group.

What color is the interior? A dirty silver lacquer? Seems that way from photos that shows the main wheel wells and the interior where the torpedo adapter has apparently disintegrated to expose the interior structure.

Thanks in advance.

2 attached images. Click to enlarge.

• Profile Photo
    Spiros Pendedekas said 10 months ago:

A fantastic entry, @kahu! I am not a Devastator expert, so no clue about the interior, but, possibly, the experts here might help.
    Welcome aboard!

• Profile Photo

I certainly hope so but I probably will have to wait for Dana Bell's book to come out.

• Profile Photo

As others have already noted, the GWH instructions are pretty much garbage. Did they ask Kinetic to make these?

Because seriously, parts simply appear already glued into position. For example the torpedo fairing just appears glued to the wing bottom on Step 9 where the torpedo is assembled. But on Step 7 it has you install the flat panel to make a level bomber. thud

But should I be surprised? On the instructions cover up at the top in big letters it says "L4807 VT-6 at Wake Island 1942." But in fine print on the lower right corner of the instructions it says "L4807 WWIIU.S.NAVY TBD-1 MIDWAY 1942." I think readers, this is going to be a challenge.

Here is a photo of what I did to the Monogram TBD-1.

1 attached image. Click to enlarge.

• Profile Photo
    Tom Cleaver said 10 months ago: