How can I simulate wood…….

Started by Cricket · 16 · 5 months ago
  • Profile Photo
    Cricket said 5 months, 2 weeks ago:

@jagmkx @eb801 @j-healy @faraomike @pb_legend @airbum @fis3 @1001 @ssgt @fiveten @anthonyricco @gblair @chinesegeorge @johnb @brithebuilder @coondog @billkoppos @atjoe @impisi @dion-dunn

What colors do I need…..also what colors can I mix to get flesh color?

Thanks 🙂

• Profile Photo
    George Williams said 5 months, 2 weeks ago:

I’m no expert, @bikequeen, but for wood I usually start with Flat Earth then mix in other colours such as red and yellow to try and get the effect I’m after. As for flesh colours there are many experts on this site who should be able to help.

• Profile Photo
    Dion Dunn said 5 months, 2 weeks ago:

That depends. Are you simulating Oak, Cedar, Mahogany, Birch……..😂

• Profile Photo

@chinesegeorge thanks George its a caricature so its not critical

• Profile Photo

@dion-dunn. Not helpful…..LOL

• Profile Photo
    George R Blair Jr said 5 months, 2 weeks ago:

Hi Cricket (@bikequeen): For generic wood, I usually use some tan or light brown acrylic for the base layer, and then use some dark brown artist oils. After the tan is dry, paint the pattern you want using the oils. Let the oils dry for 20-30 minutes and use thinner to lightly blend the pattern. Be sure to use acrylic for the base layer, or it will react with the thinner for the oils.

I have never been good creating flesh colors. Vallejo, along with several other manufacturers, make several flesh colors that you might use.

Cheers

• Profile Photo

@gblair. I was hoping to mix color I already have it doesn’t have to be real accurate because it’s a caricature….i will reveal the subject later this week 🙂

• Profile Photo
    Spiros Pendedekas said 5 months, 2 weeks ago:

Hi my friend @cricket!