Hobbycraft Avro CF-100 Canuck 1/48

Started by Morne Meyer · 225 · 2 years ago
  • Profile Photo
    Morne Meyer said 3 years, 2 months ago:

As a Modeler I am often looking for some inspiration to decide on my next build. Searching the web for aircraft photos, I came accross a photo of a F-102 Delta Dagger and a CF-100 Canuck flying in formation.

The CF-100 was the first all Canadian designed and built jet fighter that served in the RCAF and was also exported to Belgium. It was a very capable aircraft that had excellent handling capabilities, was a stable gun platform and was blessed with excellent range.

Digging through my stash I came accross the 'ancient' Hobbycraft 1/48 Canuck. The less I say about the kit the better! It lacks greatly in detail, has trenches for panel lines and needs tons of scratchbuilding to get it close to something worthwhile to display. Some aftermarket resin cockpit and landing gear sets and decals are available. Needless to say these are expensive. I have decided to buy aftermarket decals and embark on a scratchbuilding journey from here to eternity.

5 attached images. Click to enlarge.

• Profile Photo

The Canuck has a large ventral airbrake. Since most photos show parked Canucks with an extended airbrake, I decided to carefully cut out the airbrake panel. I then constructed the interior of the airbrake using reference photos.

The undercarriage bays are devoid of any details so lots of scratchbuilt details were added using thin wire to replicate all the plumbing ( still a work in progress ), Evergreen styrene and Pewter foil. This area still needs more attention and will add some visual interest.

7 attached images. Click to enlarge.

• Profile Photo