Something.....Different?

Started by Ralph Jeffries · 7 · 4 years ago
  • Profile Photo
    Ralph Jeffries said 5 years ago:

Just joined this group and I understand it's for aircraft in progress, but I'm not sure this is the proper group to post this in. Here goes...For several years I have been collecting Military (mostly aviation related) GI Joes and similar 1/6th scale figures. Now I know what your thinking...That's Not Modeling!...but I beg to differ. Nothing I get stays OOB, I have to make it different from all the others. I am also an avid aircraft model builder from WAY back and I was thinking of ways to combine the two. So here's what I came up with...one of my figures is a U-2 Dragon Lady pilot in high altitude flight gear (very detailed with a few tweeks of my own). He will be mounted to a plaque with a 1/48th scale Hawk Models U-2C in military black color scheme in the background. The kit was old and has a lot of fit problems, but no sweat for a level 3 or higher builder. The end result is...different and that's where I was trying to go. So...should this be here?...or diorama?...or maybe figures?

1 attached image. Click to enlarge.

• Profile Photo

I should add that this is NOT the final product. There is still a lot of finishing work to be done...but you get the idea.

• Profile Photo
    Erik Gjørup said 5 years ago:

Hi - good idea of combining two hobbies (collecting Gi and using them in modelling makes two - right?)
    Anyway, as I get the idea here it is for showing your work as it progresses, posting every now and then along the way untill the finished product. (to quote the text in "about group; Here’s a group dedicated to those long hours spent at the workbench, as building is the best part of the hobby. Share your ongoing work and let’s support each other!")