Trio of Hudsons in 1/72

Started by George R Blair Jr · 355 · 4 months ago · 1/72, 3D printing, Italeri, Lockheed Hudson, MPM, Revell
  • Profile Photo
    George R Blair Jr said 6 months, 2 weeks ago:

This project represents something I have never done before: building more than one kit at the same time. I tend to be a linear builder. I build one kit at a time, and when it is done I clean up the workbench and start the next one. I have watched many of you build two, three, or more kits at a time, so I thought I would give it a try. I have three 1/72 kits of the Hudson, one from MPM, one from Revell, and one from Italeri. According to Scalemates, all three of these kits come from the same MPM molds. The MPM kit came out in 2006 (my boxing is from 2010), Italeri in 2006, and Revell in 2013. I haven't checked yet, but if all of these kits are the same, the build process should be streamlined. Yeah!

First, a little background for the Lockheed Hudson:
    Let me start out by saying that until a few weeks ago I thought the Hudson and the Ventura were versions of the same airplane. I really like the Ventura, and I thought the Hudson was an earlier version. When I started researching the Hudson, I discovered they are very different planes. They are related. The Hudson was so successful that a larger, stronger plane was developed that was based on the Hudson. This newly designed plane was the Ventura.